
 

 

 

 

GENERAL INFORMATION FOR OBTAINING AN ALCOHOL BEVERAGE LICENSE  

 

APPLICANT QUALIFICATIONS:  
1. AGE: Individuals, all partners (including limited partners), officers, directors, and agents of 

corporations, members, managers, and agents of LLC companies and the officers, directors and agents of 

nonprofit organizations must be 21 years old.  

2. RECORD CHECK: Individuals, officers, directors, members, managers and agents will be subject to 

an investigative check. These individuals may not have an arrest or conviction record subject to the Fair 

Employment Act, may not be a “habitual law offender,” or may not have been convicted of a felony 

which substantially relates to the alcohol beverage licensing activity. The Village Board will review and 

make decisions regarding information provided by the police department.  

3. SELLER’S PERMIT: Applicants for retail licenses must provide proof they are in good standing for 

sales tax purposes by providing a current Wisconsin seller’s permit.  

4. RESIDENCY: Individuals, all members of a partnership and the agents of corporations and LLC 

companies must have 90 days of continuous residency in Wisconsin prior to their date of application. The 

following may be used to verify residency in Wisconsin for the required time period: Voter registration, 

motor vehicle registration, driver’s license, residential lease or purchase agreement, income tax records.  

 

5. REPONSIBLE BEVERAGE SERVER TRAINING COURSE: Individuals, partners and agents of 

corporations and LLC companies must have successfully completed an approved responsible beverage 

server training course within the past two years prior to application. This does not apply if the person is 

renewing a license or has, within the past two years, held a manager’s or operator’s license, or held or 

was agent of a corporation or LLC company that held a Class “A” beer, Class “B” beer, “Class A” 
liquor, “Class B” liquor, or “Class C” wine license.  

6. HEALTH REQUIREMENTS: A liquor license cannot be released until the premise has been 

approved by the Building Inspector and the Police Department. If you intend to sell food, you must also 
contact all appropriate health agencies.  

7. OCCUPANCY PERMIT: An Occupancy Permit must be issued by the Village’s Building Inspector 
prior to issuance of an alcohol beverage license if a premise has been newly constructed or renovated.  

8. PROXIMITY: Unless waived by a majority vote of the governing body, a liquor license may not be 

issued within 300 feet of the main entrance of any church, school or hospital.  

9. RELINQUISHMENT: If the premise is licensed to sell liquor, the previous liquor license must be 

relinquished before the Clerk’s Office can release the new license. In order to begin the license 

application process, the applicant must provide a letter from the current license holder acknowledging that 

they agree to relinquish their license upon approval of the new license.  

 



 

10. GOOD STANDING: In order to release any liquor license, all bills to the Village must be paid in full 

(this includes, but is not limited to utility, personal property and property taxes) and applicant cannot have 

any delinquent liquor wholesaler’s bills.  

 

GENERAL LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:  
1. WAITING PERIOD: All applications for licenses to sell alcohol beverages must be filed 15 days 

prior to the granting of the license. (This does not include temporary Class “B” (picnic) licenses lasting 

less than three days.)  

2. PUBLICATION: All applications are required to be published in the Village’s official newspaper with 

the cost of publication paid for by the applicant. This publication is to include the name and address of the 

applicant, type of license being applied for and the location of the premises to be licensed. Publication is 

not required for temporary Class “B” picnic licenses.  

3. VILLAGE BOARD APPROVAL: All liquor license applications must be approved by the Village 

Board, which meet on the first and third Mondays of the month.  

 

HOLDERS OF LIQUOR LICENSES:  
 

PARTNERSHIPS  
1. The names of all partners, including limited partners, must be revealed in the application for a beer or 

liquor license.  

2. Adding or dropping a partner requires application for a new license.  

 

CORPORATIONS AND LLC COMPANIES  
1. Out-of-state corporations and out-of state LLC companies are ineligible for “Class C” wine licenses.  

2. The 90-day state residency requirement is inapplicable to the officers and directors of corporations and 
the members or managers of LLC companies.  

3. The agents of corporations and LLC companies must meet the 90-day state residency requirements.  

4. All corporations and LLC companies must appoint an agent that is satisfactory to the governing body, 

and must be given full authority and control over the licensed premises and over all commercial activities 

on the premises relating to alcohol beverages.  

5. In the case of the appointment of a new agent, the corporation or LLC must immediately notify the 

Clerk’s Office in writing of the appointment of a new agent and the reason for cancellation of the 

previous agent.  

6. A corporation or LLC company may apply for an alcohol beverage license prior to registration with the 

Secretary of State’s Office and the license may be granted, but cannot be issued until the corporation/LLC 
has been registered to do business in the state.  

7. If a corporation or LLC company changes its name or its officers, directors, stockholders or members 

or managers, the  Clerk’s Office must be notified within 10 days about any such change. Any new 

officers, directors, members or managers must complete and file with the Clerk’s Office an Auxiliary 

Questionnaire. A new agent must complete this form, along with a Schedule for Appointment of Agent. A 

new liquor license application is not needed.  

 

 

 


